Change Color or Text Size
webxd logo

United States National and International Laws about Website Accessibility

united states national and national laws about website accessibility

In an increasingly digital world, the accessibility of websites has become a critical focal point for lawmakers. In this article, we delve into the United States national laws and international laws pertaining to accessibility for people with disabilities. From the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities to the landmark Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), we will explore the legal frameworks designed to foster an inclusive online environment.

Disclaimer: The information presented in this article is intended for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. While efforts have been made to ensure the accuracy and currency of the information, laws and regulations are subject to change, and the content may not reflect the most up-to-date legal standards. This article does not substitute for the counsel of a qualified attorney who can provide tailored advice based on the specifics of your situation. Readers are encouraged to consult with legal professionals for guidance on their individual circumstances and to seek up-to-date legal information from authoritative sources. The author and publisher disclaim any liability for actions taken or not taken based on the content of this article.

Table of Contents

United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Disabled Persons (1975)

The UN Declaration on the Rights of Disabled Persons was a pivotal document adopted in 1975, predating the more comprehensive UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD). It emphasized the need for equal participation, rehabilitation, and non-discrimination for people with disabilities, setting the stage for later international efforts.

African Charter on Human and People’s Rights (1981)

Enacted in 1981, the African Charter on Human and People’s Rights is a regional treaty that addresses various aspects of human rights. While not exclusively focused on disability, it underscores the principles of dignity, non-discrimination, and equal protection under the law, which laid a foundation for the rights of individuals with disabilities.

Americans with Disabilities Act (1990)

The ADA, enacted in 1990, is a landmark U.S. legislation prohibiting discrimination against individuals with disabilities in various areas, including employment, public accommodations, and information communication technologies (ICT). It has significantly influenced global perspectives on disability rights and served as a model for subsequent legislation.

In accordance with the ADA, United States federal, state, and local government websites must be compliant with Section 508 regulations, which are based on W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.1. These guidelines are a part of the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) and have varying degrees of compliance (Level A, Level AA, and Level AAA).

Although the ADA does not explicitly include legal standards for website accessibility owned by private businesses or non-profit organizations, Title III of the ADA prohibits discrimination based on disabilities in the activities of places of public accommodation, which includes public websites. Therefore, Title III requires private business websites and non-profit websites to be accessible. Since Section 508 spells out website accessibility standards for government websites, these standards are best practice for private sector websites as well.

Inter-American Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Persons with Disabilities (1999)

This convention, adopted in 1999, is an initiative within the Americas to combat discrimination against persons with disabilities. It outlines measures to promote equal opportunities and access to education, employment, and healthcare, aligning with international efforts to protect the rights of individuals with disabilities.

Ontarians with Disabilities Act (2001)

Enacted in the Canadian province of Ontario, this legislation focuses on achieving a barrier-free Ontario for individuals with disabilities. It establishes standards for accessibility in various sectors, including the digital landscape.

United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) (2006)

Adopted in 2006, the CRPD is a comprehensive international treaty that sets out the rights of persons with disabilities and promotes their full inclusion in all aspects of life. It addresses issues ranging from accessibility to political participation, serving as a global benchmark for disability rights.

Charter on the Fundamental Rights of the European Union (2009)

The EU Charter on Fundamental Rights, established in 2009, includes provisions relevant to the rights of persons with disabilities. It reflects the EU’s commitment to upholding dignity, equality, and non-discrimination for all individuals, including those with disabilities.

The Equality Act (2010)

A significant piece of UK legislation, the Equality Act of 2010 consolidates and strengthens anti-discrimination laws, providing protection for individuals with disabilities. It covers various areas, including employment, education, and services, promoting equality and accessibility.

Twenty-First Century Communications and Video Accessibility Act (CVAA) (2010)

Enacted in the United States, the CVAA focuses on ensuring that communication and video technology is accessible to individuals with disabilities. It mandates improvements in the accessibility of telecommunications services and advanced communication services.

The Marrakesh Treaty (2013)

The Marrakesh Treaty is an international agreement aimed at facilitating access to published works for individuals who are blind, visually impaired, or otherwise print-disabled. It promotes the creation and distribution of accessible-format books globally.

European Union Web Accessibility Directive (2016/2102) (2018)

This directive, adopted in 2016 and implemented in 2018, requires public sector websites and mobile applications in the EU to be accessible according to EN 301 549.

In the 2018 update, EN 301 549 adopted W3C’s Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.1 AA standards as its baseline for compliance.

European Accessibility Act (2019)

Enacted in 2019, the European Accessibility Act aims to improve the accessibility of products and services in the EU market. It establishes harmonized requirements to enhance accessibility, particularly in areas such as information and communication technology, transport, and banking.

In conclusion...

The United States national laws and international laws surrounding website accessibility serves as a testament to the growing recognition of digital inclusivity as a fundamental human right.

For organizations seeking comprehensive website accessibility solutions, one standout option is WebXd, a leading web design agency with a specialized focus on accessibility compliance. Offering a suite of services encompassing compliance assessments, thorough testing, and accessibility statements, WebXd is at the forefront of ensuring that your digital presence adheres to website accessibility standards.

By choosing WebXd, you not only invest in a visually engaging and user-friendly website but also demonstrate a commitment to inclusivity and compliance with global accessibility regulations. In the ever-evolving digital landscape, WebXd stands as a reliable partner, bridging the gap between design innovation and the imperative of accessibility for all.